So, blog story short…

I have deleted approximately 43 first sentences before finally deciding on this one. I feel so much better now, having ripped off the band-aid. I find that in anything I write, the first line is the hardest. With that out of the way, I am finally ready to introduce you to my new blog, Blog Story Short.

To be honest, I didn’t originally set out to write a blog. I found a website that would pay writers a few cents for each time a reader clicked an ad in one of their articles and I imagined that it would be an easy way to make a little extra cash. I wrote one article for this website and when I was done, I realized that I simply wasn’t capable of writing content I didn’t care about just for a little money. I wanted to keep writing, but on my own terms, to my own audience. I’m not even completely sure that I have enough interesting things to say to sustain this new hobby, but I love to write (and talk, as anyone who knows me will tell you) and so, I’m giving it a go.

After finally settling on the idea of a blog, I began to wonder what exactly I would write about. In truth, I still don’t know exactly what the common threads of my posts will be, but I can tell you what this blog WON’T be. This blog is not going to tell you what you should be doing to shrink your pores or which pants are right for your body type because quite honestly, those things don’t matter to me. If you’re looking for someone to tell you what to eat or how to read nutrition labels, you’ll have to consult a nutritionist. This blog won’t follow celebrity fashion trends because they’re almost completely unattainable and even if you don’t mind splurging, it’s impossible to keep up. If you’re reading this blog, you won’t find parenting tips or relationship advice because I am not a parent and no one knows your spouse or partner better than you.

If all of that sounds good to you, then I can also promise that no matter what I write, it will be my truth. I will share my experiences – the good, the bad, and the awkward – and in turn, I hope that you’ll do the same. I hope that this blog will allow me to be as active a listener as I am a writer. I hope that you’ll comment on my posts and let me know what you think, how you’re feeling, and if there’s something I may have missed. My biggest hope of all is that you’ll keep coming back to visit.

As anyone who knows me can tell you for certain, I have never once succeeded in making a  long story short, even though I always begin stories that way. This blog is probably no exception, but I’ll try anyway.

x

N

This is a photo of most of my face. If you keep checking back, you will eventually be lucky enough to see a photo of my whole face.
Leave a Reply

